a/ history


a/perture cinema

In January 2020, a/perture cinema celebrated its 10th anniversary in Downtown Winston-Salem. For the past decade, a/perture has been serving the community the art of film and providing a communal cinematic experience. We screen over 175 films and special events annually, with more than 4,000 screenings and an average 41,000 admissions per year. a/perture is the only dedicated year-round art house cinema in the Piedmont Triad.

Annually, a/perture screens first-run films  that include award winners from all the major international film festivals, major foreign releases from around the world, significant documentary films and numerous other critically acclaimed films. The majority of these films are not screened anywhere else in the community and many would not be seen by local audiences if not for our programming. Whenever possible, a/perture augments first-run film programming with post film discussions and dialogues, community moderated panels, and filmmaker and guest artist visits.

As an intimate and welcoming communal space, a/perture is constantly building social capital through our films and opportunities for conversation.

our mission

To entertain and engage the community through the art of film by showcasing informative, educational, thought-provoking, and inspiring films—the films that enrich our lives, engage our minds, promote diversity, and build community.

our board

Matt Jamison, Chair
Thirty-Six | Thirty

Harris Henderson, Vice-Chair

Jimmy Eggers, Treasurer
Smith Leonard

Heather Freeland, Secretary
UNC Kenan-Flagler Business School Executive Development Program

Andrew Harrison Brown
Documentary Filmmaker, RagTag Films

Raul Colon

Marina Davis

Dedee DeLongpre-Johnston
Chief Sustainability Officer Wake Forest University

Richard Emmett
Program Director, Blue Ridge Music Center
Co-Owner & Managing Partner The Ramkat

Walter Farabee
Director of Economic Retention & Expansion, Greater Winston-Salem, Inc.

LaShonda Hairston
Novant Health

Alexandra Hoskins
Chief Operating Officer, Forsyth County Schools

Seton McGowan
Senior Marketing Manager, Hanesbrands

Stacy Petronzio
Community Volunteer

Graydon Pleasants
Wake Forest Innovation Quarter

Lauren Rogers
Former Dean of Students, Salem Academy

Jeanne Sayers
Director of Development, Summit School

Steven Shafer
Wells Fargo